Exhibition now closed:  “Mistresses of Light brings together a selection of evocative images in an exhibition celebrating the art of landscape photography created by emerging and established women artists.

Drawing their inspiration from the land and the sea, the showcased images seek to capture the feel of the fleeting moments created by the special quality of light in nature. Having an affair with the unsurpassed light in the landscape, all the artists are not only mistresses of imagery, but also great supporters of creative and imaginative techniques. The exhibition unites a range of styles and artistic interpretations, from classic grand views, through intimate details abundant in nature’s riches, to painterly and abstract images delicately conveying the beauty to be found within the landscape.

Exploring landscapes and pushing the boundaries of classic and progressive photography has resulted in an inspiring exhibition of traditional film work alongside digitally enhanced imagery. This ambitious exhibition not only presents personal takes on landscapes, it also emphasises the importance of photography in contemporary art.”

Exhibiting Artists:

Sue Bishop www.suebishop.co.uk
Susan Brown www.susanbrownphotography.co.uk
Karen Frenkel www.karenfrenkel.info
Charlotte Gilliatt www.charlottegilliatt.com
Cheryl Hamer www.cherylhamer.com
Deborah Hughes www.debhughesphoto.com
Marianthi Lainas www.openspaceimages.com
Sarah Medway www.sarahmedwayphotography.com
Beata Moore www.beatamoore.co.uk
Vanda Ralevska www.mylenscapes.co.uk
Rachael Talibart www.rachaeltalibart.com
Linda Wevill www.lindawevillphotography.com

Exhibition details:

gallery@oxo, Oxo Tower Wharf, Bargehouse Street, South Bank, London, SE1 9PH

Dates: 9 September – 13 September

Opening Times: 11.00am – 6.00pm

Admission: Free